Thu Aug 30
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Lawrence Tech
Sat Sep 01
TBA
Michigan Tech
at TBA
Sat Sep 08
TBA
Michigan Tech
at TBA
Fri Sep 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ TBA
Sat Sep 15
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ TBA
Sun Sep 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ TBA
Sat Sep 22
10:00 AM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 23
TBA
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Sep 29
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sun Sep 30
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Fri Oct 05
TBA
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 06
10:00 AM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 13
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sun Oct 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Oct 20
TBA
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 26
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sat Oct 27
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sun Oct 28
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Fri Feb 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Tiffin
@ Lexington, Ohio Lakewood Racquet Club
Sat Feb 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Fri Mar 08
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C. (March 8-16)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Close Road Trip at Wayne State (Mich.)

Huskies Close Road Trip at Wayne State (Mich.)

DETROIT, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's tennis team finished up a three match Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference weekend road trip Sunday at Wayne State. The Huskies fell by a final of 6-3, but each point was tightly contested.

Michigan Tech (3-2, 1-2 GLIAC) claimed one point in doubles competition to start the match when Ivana Gorgioski and Vicky Quinde teamed up to edge Andreea Mitrache and Khadija Da-Silva 8-6 in No.2 doubles. Paola Quintana and Sandra Cvetanovic battled to the end in No.1 doubles, but fell 8-6 against Dasha Kuznetsova and Liz Ghellere of Wayne State (2-0, 2-0 GLIAC).

Gorgioski highlighted singles competition for the Huskies with a 7-5, 6-2 victory against Da-Silva. Gorgioski had to hang on in the first set, but picked things up in set number two on her way to a convincing 6-2 decision. Gorgioski improved to 5-0 in No. 2 singles competition to start the season.

Allenca Rolim recorded Tech's other singles point with a solid 7-6 (2), 6-0 win against Astrid Ciellza, picking up her second singles win of the 2017 campaign. Quinde and Quintana both went to three sets in the No. 4 and No. 1 spots respectively, but came up just short in each. Quinde and Quintana have both played well this season. Quinde boasts a 4-1 record in singles while Quintana is 3-2 facing the opponents top player each match.

The Huskies will travel to Grand Rapids, Michigan next weekend for the three day ITA Regional Tournament beginning on Friday.

Wayne State 6, Michigan Tech 3
Sep 17, 2017 at Detroit, Mich.

Singles competition

1. Andreea Mitrache (WSUW) def. Paola Quintana (MTUW) 5-7, 6-2, 10-5

2. Ivona Gorgioski (MTUW) def. Khadija Da-Silva (WSUW) 7-5, 6-2

3. Dasha Kuznetsova (WSUW) def. Sandra Cvetanovic (MTUW) 6-2, 6-4

4. Liz Ghellere (WSUW) def. Vicky Quinde (MTUW) 2-6, 6-2, 6-1

5. Linda Liong (WSUW) def. Anabella Neri (MTUW) 6-1, 6-2

6. Allenca Rolim (MTUW) def. Astrid Ciellza (WSUW) 7-6, 6-0

 

Doubles competition

1. Dasha Kuznetsova/Liz Ghellere (WSUW) def. Paola Quintana/Sandra Cvetanovic (MTUW) 8-6

2. Ivona Gorgioski/Vicky Quinde (MTUW) def. Andreea Mitrache/Khadija Da-Silva (WSUW) 8-6

3. Linda Liong/Irena van Meer (WSUW) def. Allenca Rolim/Anabella Neri (MTUW) 8-3

 

Match Notes

Michigan Tech 3-2, 1-2 GLIAC

Wayne State 2-0, 2-0 GLIAC