No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
6:00 PM
UW-Stout
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:30 PM
Winona State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
View Full Schedule

Huskies Top Saginaw Valley State in GLIAC Opener

Huskies Top Saginaw Valley State in GLIAC Opener

SAGINAW, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team extended its unbeaten streak to three games and opened the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference schedule with a 61-56 victory at Saginaw Valley State Thursday night. The Huskies held an opponent to under 70 points for the fifth time in six games and limited the Cardinals success rate on field goals to 36.2 percent. It's the fourth time the Huskies have done that to an opposing offense to begin the year.

"It wasn't that pretty, but that's the way our games have to be right now," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We are going to be a capable team and this process is going to take some time, but you can see signs of progress. Saginaw Valley State is a solid athletic team and our guys hung on to close out the win. To limit a team that's averaging 76 points per game to 56 points in their own gym, was an outstanding effort defensively.

"It's awesome for our team to now go into Saturday's game against Northwood on a three game winning streak. It was great to see the energy and excitement of our players in the locker room after the game. We'll enjoy this one tonight and then prepare to face another tough opponent in Northwood on Saturday."

Saginaw Valley State (2-4, 0-1 GLIAC) struck first on a Darnell Hoskins, Jr. triple 11 seconds into the action Thursday night. Michigan Tech (4-2, 1-0 GLIAC) then countered with four points in the paint on a hook shot by junior Ryan Schuller and a layup on a drive to the basket from senior Bryan Heath. The two teams basically traded basket for basket over the next few minutes with neither side holding more than a one possession lead during that stretch.

The Cardinals went up 16-12 with 9:28 to play in the first half on a layup by Myles Belyeu and then increased the gap to 23-17 courtesy of a Fred John Jr. layup at the 7:31 mark. Still trailing 26-19 with just under six minutes to go until the break, the Huskies began to chip away at their deficit. Sophomore Trent Bell dropped in a tough mid-range jumper and then sophomore Dawson Bilski filled up a three-pointer to draw Tech to within two points at 26-24 with 4:16 remaining in the first half.

Bell knotted the score on a layup and then freshman Owen White put the Huskies back on top 28-26 with points in the paint off a layup. White eventually gave the Huskies a four-point 32-28 edge going into the locker room at halftime. White sank a pair of clutch free throws for the final two points in the opening half and put some more momentum and confidence in Tech's corner.

The Huskies increased the lead to six points in the early moments of the second half when Bilski made it 35-29 score with 17:54 to play. The advantage then grew to 38-30 on an Isaac Appleby triple with just over 16 minutes  to go in the contest. The Cardinals recovered with six straight points and drew to within two at 38-36 on a CJ Wilson trey at the 13:09 mark. Bilski then began an 8-0 Huskies run with a jumper that also featured layups from White and freshman TeeAaron Powell off the bench. Powell's layup with 9:22 remaining in the contest gave the Huskies their first double digit lead of the evening at 46-36.

Bell found the bottom of the net from three-point land with just over seven minutes remaining, generating the largest lead of the evening for the Huskies at 53-41. Saginaw Valley State made things interesting late though by battling back to within three points twice in the final three minutes.

Hoskins Jr., connected on a fade away jumper to make it 56-53 with 2:08 to play, but then the defenses for both sides came up with stops until the final minute. White connected on a clutch jumper with 30 seconds left for Tech to push the gap out to a two possession spread once again at 58-53. The Huskies then took care of business at the free throw line with three makes by Heath in the remaining seconds to seal the win.

Heath and White paced the Huskies in the points column with 11 apiece in Thursday night's win at Saginaw Valley State. Bilski followed with eight points while Bell, Appleby, and Powell ended the evening with seven points apiece. In total, nine different Huskies had points in an all-around team victory. Freshman Kyle Clow grabbed a team best 10 rebounds while Appleby hauled down seven boards and dished out four assists.

As a team, the Huskies were on target with 24 of 58 shots from the field (41.4%), tossed in 5 of 17 attempts from three-point range (29.4%), and converted 8 of 10 opportunities at the charity stripe (80.0%). Tech had the edge in rebounding 40-37 and scored 32 of their 61 points in the paint. The Huskies bench out produced the Cardinals reserves 22-8.

James Toohey guided the Cardinals' offense with a game high 18 points followed by Belyeu with 10 points. John Jr. chipped in eight points and secured 11 rebounds while Elijah Pughsley added five points and a team best four assists. The Cardinals had only 21 successful shots out of 58 attempts from the field (36.2%), were 5 of 16 from three-point range (31.3%), and 9 of 18 on looks at the free throw line (50.0%).

The Huskies are back in action Saturday afternoon when they travel to Northwood University for their second GLIAC game of the year. The tip-off is scheduled for 3 p.m.